Creative Writing Workshops

These hugely popular workshops are always very much in demand. We recommend you book early. The interactive workshops are aimed at children aged 6 to 12. They are suitable for writers of all abilities and they are always lively, engaging sessions.

Equally popular with boys and girls, the sessions enable children to  meet others from a wide range of schools and gain confidence in a group environment; often returning again and again as each workshop is different with new and exciting themes.

Our aim is to unlock the box of each child’s creativity and help them find the confidence to think differently, so that writing becomes a life skill rather than just a means of passing exams. 

 

Contact us

t +44 (0)20 7731 0695
m +44 (0)7912 610366
e hello@yellowbirdeducation.com


How the session works

Groups are kept small (8-10 maximum) and cover a wide range of writing topics. We build an understanding of how to write stories based on our Six Secrets for Success:

1. The elements of the story and good composition. 
2. Structure and planning with a twist. 
3. Senses.
4. Sentence structure, punctuation and power words for dramatic effect.  
5. Descriptive content: similes, metaphors, alliteration etc.
6. Time practice: working to the clock.

Our sessions take place during the school holidays. Sessions begin at 10:00 and finish at 14:00. Snacks and drinks are provided during the break. There will be some supervised outdoor time. 

Discursive, Comprehension practice, 11+ and Grammar booster workshops will be available in October and December.

Suitable for children in Years 2 to 6.


Dates, times and pricing

Workshops are held during school holidays at Parsons Green Prep School, 1 Fulham Park Road, Fulham, London SW6 4LJ.

December 2016 Creative Writing Workshop
3-DAY: Mon 19th Dec to Wed 21st Dec 2016 / 10am–2pm / £299

Easter 2017 Holiday Creative Writing Workshops
3-DAY: Wed 29th Mar to Fri 31st Mar 2017 / 10am–2pm / £299
5-DAY: Mon 3rd Apr to Fri 7th Apr 2017 / 10am-2pm / £399
4-DAY: Mon 10th Apr to Thurs 13th Apr 2017 / 10am-2pm / £349

May Half-Term 2017 Creative Writing Workshop
4-DAY: Tue 30th May to Fri 2nd Jun 2017 / 10am–2pm / £349

Summer Holiday 2017 Creative Writing Workshops
4-DAY: Tue 18th Jul to Fri 21st Jul 2017 / 10am–2pm / £349
5-DAY: Mon 24th Jul to Fri 28th Jul 2017 / 10am-2pm / £399
5-DAY: Mon 21st Aug to Fri 25th Aug 2017 / 10am-2pm / £399
4-DAY: Tue 29th Aug to Fri 1st Sep 2017 / 10am–2pm / £349

October Half-Term 2017 Creative Writing Workshops
5-DAY: Mon 23rd Oct to Fri 27th Oct 2017 / 10am–2pm / £399
5-DAY: Mon 30th Oct to Fri 3rd Nov 2017 / 10am–2pm / £399

December 2017 Creative Writing Workshop
3-DAY: Mon 18th Dec to Wed 20th Dec 2017 / 10am–2pm / £299


The teacher is amazing!

“Our daughter did the writing week this Easter. She did not want to go at first. It went so well that now she loves writing and she said that the class really makes her enjoy writing. I can’t believe how much she wrote and learnt in only one week. The teacher is amazing. Well done and we will do it again. Thank you so much.”

MR & MRS B, CLAPHAM UK

We saw a huge improvement!

"Our son did the Creative Writing Course with Yellowbird and after just a week, we saw a huge improvement in his story writing skills. The course taught him how to write – something his school failed to achieve. We were delighted to learn that he got a 3A on his report card this July. Thank you."

— MR & MRS S, LONDON UK


Practical skills and strategy.

“It only took a day with the irrepressible Mr Viv for my daughter to be hooked. She walked out of the workshop exclaiming, "I LOVE writing!" I nearly fell over. This same child had loathed writing for most of her school career. We are extremely pleased with not only her newfound love of writing but also the practical skills and strategy she can now take back to school with her. Thank you, Yellowbird!” 

MRS S, LONDON UK

Yellowbird_creative_writing_workshop.jpg